Thomas Aaberg

Thomas M. Aaberg

Chairman at Emeritus

General Information


M.L. Simpson Distinguished Professor - Emeritus



MD degree - Ophthalmology , Harvard Medical School

Master of Science - Public health , University of Oklahoma

Master of Science - Public health , Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Recent News  

Established Awards

Thomas M. Aaberg, Sr., MD
M.L. Simpson Distinguished Professor Chairman, Emeritus Dr. Aaberg graduated from Dartmouth College. His MD degree is from Harvard Medical School and his residency in Ophthalmology fro Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary. He then entered the US Public Health Service for two years and graduated from the University of Oklahoma with a Master of Science in Public health before starting an 18 month fellowship in retinal disease and retinal surgery at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. In 1988 he was appointed chair of Ophthalmology at Emory University School of Medicine and Phinizy Calhoun, R. Professor of Ophthalmology and Director or the Emory Eye Center. During the subsequent twenty years, until becoming chair Emeritus, Dr. Aaberg developed the Emory Department of Ophthalmology into a nationally respected and highly ranked program in clinical ophthalmology with an extensive scientific faculty He developed an excellent residency training program, highly ranked in the country together with fellowship programs in 8 clinical ophthalmological subspecialties. Dr. Aaberg has personally been involved in the training of 61 vitreoretinal fellows who are in academic or private practice throughout the United States and Canada, including the current President of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Read More
RRF Pyron Award | Retina Research Foundation

1997 Thomas M. Aaberg, MD

Read More

Browse ZoomInfo’s Directories