Curious Theatre Branch


3502 N ELSTON AVE # 04ChicagoIllinois60618United States View Map


$2.4 Million



SIC Codes:


NAICS Codes:



(773) 267-6660


Curious Theatre Branch is one of Chicago's few all-original theater companies. Founded in 1988 by Jenny Magnus and Beau O'Reilly, Curious has consistently worked with an ensemble of artists in a non-hierarchical decision-making process, through which the philosophy of collaboration as a social force is explored on every level. Curious Theatre Branch has produced more than 100 full productions of world-premiere shows in 20 years, amazing audiences year after year in how much can be accomplished for so little. Curious has developed its own recognizable style, using an economy of means and production to make deeper and deeper, rather than larger and larger, work. In 1995, Beau O'Reilly was named one of the 50 most influential people in Chicago theater by Chicago Magazine. In 1998, Beau O'Reilly and Jenny Magnus were named among the Artists of the Year by the Chicago Tribune, and from 1998 to 2005, they were included among the 50 most influential people in Chicago theater by Newcity Chicago. In 2007, Curious Theatre Branch won an Orgie Award for Original Theater for the year-long Samuel Beckett festival, No Danger of the Spiritual Thing: 100 Years of Beckett (best ensemble), which was lauded at the Museum of Contemporary Art.

Read More

Browse ZoomInfo’s Directories