Beazley Foundation, Incorporated
was established in December 1948 with funds provided by the late Fred W. Beazley, his wife, Marie C. Beazley, and son, Fred W. Beazley, Jr.
, all of Portsmouth, Virginia.
In February 1956, Mr. Beazley formed a companion entity, Foundation Boys Academy, to operate a private secondary school for boys, Frederick Military Academy, and, later, a college, Frederick College.
The College was gifted to the Commonwealth of Virginia in 1968 to become a part of the Community College system and the Academy closed in 1985.
Shortly thereafter, in 1986, the Charter of Foundation Boys Academy
was amended to change its name to Frederick Foundation
and embrace an expanded mission, including charitable, religious and educational purposes, with the continued financial support of Mr. Beazley
In 1993, Frederick Foundation
merged into the present Beazley Foundation
From the inception of the Foundation, the needs of community and young people have been the primary focus of Mr. Beazley's
Health care, housing, education, recreation and like concerns have resulted in substantial Foundation grants to an array of organizations and programs serving southeastern Virginia, ranging from a dental clinic and recreation centers for both adults and children to battered women's shelters and endowed college scholarships.
Today, as reflected in the following pages, Mr.Beazley's legacy continues with the enduring commitment of the Foundation and its Board of Trustees to a better quality of life for our neighbors and greater opportunity for our children.